Welcome to the Perris Union High School District’s Special Education Department

California Education Code Section 56031 defines Special Education as “specially designed instruction, at no cost to the parent, to meet the unique needs of individuals with exceptional needs, whose educational needs cannot be met without modification of the regular instructional program, and related services at no cost to the parent, which may be needed to assist such individuals to benefit from specially designed instruction.”

Perris Union High School District serves approximately 1000 students with special needs across three comprehensive high schools, one middle school, two alternative education schools, and one charter school. All sites and school staff strive to provide effective and consistent supports and services to all of our students with exceptional needs.

Special Education is based upon a couple of fundamental tenets. The first tenet is that every child in California has the right to a free and appropriate public education. Second is the idea that students should be given instruction in the Least Restrictive Environment, which is to say that students with disabilities should be taught alongside their non-disabled peers to the greatest extent possible.

The Perris Union High School District Special Education Department is committed to treating all students with courtesy, dignity and respect, with the goal that all students receive the services they require to succeed in our schools.

Should you have any questions about our department or should you have any concerns, please feel free to contact our office.


  • Special Education Department (951) 943-6369, 81300
  • Special Education Fax (951) 943-6501

Cindy Barris

Director of Special Education
cindy.barris@puhsd.org
(951) 943-6369, 81301


Chad Shaner

Coordinator of Special Education
chad.shaner@puhsd.org
(951) 943-6369, 81306


Don Williamson

Program Specialist of Special Education
don.williamson@puhsd.org


Dorothy Leis

Secretary
dorothy.leis@puhsd.org
(951) 943-6369, 81302

Myrna Sanchez

Secretary
myrna.sanchez@puhsd.org
(951) 943-6369, 81303

Coco Marruffo

Senior Clerk/Records Requests
coco.marruffo@puhsd.org
(951) 943-6369, 81304


Handbook

THE SELPA OFFICE


Updated on by Michael Phillips Ii